What do you need to know about the e-visa to Russia?

An e-visa is only issued for visits to one of the following three regions of the Russian Federation: the Far-Eastern Federal District, or Kaliningrad Oblast, or Saint-Petersburg and Leningrad Oblast. An e-visa issued for a visit to one of the three above-listed regions is not valid for visits to other regions of the Russian Federation

How much does an e-visa cost?

An e-visa is free

For what purposes can an e-visa be acquired?

  • Business
  • Tourist
  • Humanitarian (purposes of journey are sports, cultural, scientific and technological ties)

How long before a trip should e-visa applications be submitted?

You can fill in an application form for an e-visa on this website not earlier than 20 days and no later than 4 days before the intended date of entry into the Russian Federation

How long are e-visas valid for?

Single-entry visas, e-visas are valid for 30 days from the date of issue. The permitted stay in the Russian Federation with an e-visa is up to 8 days starting from the date of entry, within its validity period.

Please note: The days of stay start being counted from the 00:00 of the date of entry.

For example, with a visa issued on April 15, 2020, you could come to Russia on 01 May 2020 at 14:00, and you would need to leave no later than May 08, 2020 at 23:59 but not May 09, 2020 at 14:00.

Through which checkpoints is it possible to enter and leave the country with an e-visa?

E-visa can be used for entering and leaving the Russian Federation at the following checkpoints at the national border of the Russian Federation in the Far Eastern Federal District, Kaliningrad Oblast, Saint-Petersburg and Leningrad Oblast:

  • air checkpoints «Vladivostok (Knevichy Airport)», «Yuzhno-Sakhalinsk (Khomutovo Airport)», «Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky (Yelizovo Airport)», «Blagoveschensk», «Khabarovsk (Novy Airport)», «Anadyr (Ugolny Airport)», «Kaliningrad (Khrabrovo)», «Ulan-Ude (Muhino)», «Chita (Kadala)», «Pulkovo»;
  • naval checkpoints «Vladivostok», «Zarubino», «Posiet», «Korsakov», «Petropavlovsk-Kamchatsky», «Kaliningrad (checkpoints in the cities of Kaliningrad, Baltiysk and Svetly)», «Vysotsk», «Big port Saint Petersburg (Marine Station)», «Passenger port Saint Petersburg»;
  • railroad checkpoints «Pogranichny», «Khasan», «Makhalino», «Mamonovo», «Sovetsk»;
  • automobile checkpoints «Poltavka», «Turiy Rog», «Bagrationovsk», «Gusev», «Mamonovo (Grzechotki)», «Mamonovo (Gronowo)», «Morskoje», «Pogranichny», «Sovetsk», «Chernyshevskoye», «Ivangorod», «Torfjanovka», «Brusnitchnoe», «Svetogorsk»;
  • pedestrian checkpoint «Ivangorod».

PLEASE NOTE: Entry and exit by an e-visa with means of rail transport is currently unavailable in Saint-Petersburg. 

Citizens of which countries can apply for an e-visa?

Citizens of 53 countries can apply for an e-visa:

  • Austria, Andorra
  • Bahrain, Belgium, Bulgaria
  • China (including Taiwan), Croatia, Czech Republic, Cyprus 
  • Denmark, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  • Estonia
  • Finland, France
  • Germany, Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Italy 
  • Japan
  • Kuwait
  • Latvia, Lithuania, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg
  • Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco
  • Netherlands, Northern Macedonia, Norway
  • Oman
  • Philippines, Poland, Portugal
  • Qatar
  • Romania
  • San Marino, Saudi Arabia, Serbia, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland
  • Taiwan, Turkey
  • Vatican

How to apply for an e-visa?

Applications for e-visa are submitted on the website of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs at https://evisa.kdmid.ru/

What to do after applying for an e-visa?

Applications may be tracked on the same site after their submission, and status notices will also be emailed to applicants. Applications are considered within 4 days. Issued e-visas must be printed out or saved in any form so that they can be presented upon border-crossing control.

Your application must contain full and valid dataAny incorrect information, including passport data and photo, could cause revocation of an already issued visa at the national border checkpoint of the Russian Federation.

What do you need to know about the e-visa to Russia?
Scroll to top